St. Mary's, Highfield Street, Liverpool, partook in elaborate celebrations over the past week-end in connection with the golden jubilee of the church.
Pontifical High Mass was sung by the Abbot of Glastonbury, in the presence of Abbot Kelly, president of the Benedictine Congregation. Dom Kendal, 0.S.B., was the special preacher in the morning and evening. Celebrations were terminated in the evening by a procession and Benediction given by Dom Kelly.
St. Mary's occupies the unique position of 'Alma Mater to the remaining 60 churches on Mersey-side. The original building in Lumber Street was founded by Fr, Tempest, Si., in 1736, but suffered destruction at the hands of the Hanoverian party.
Mass in Warehouse For a subsequent decade or two parishioners attended Mass in a private house in Sale Street until the appropriation of a warehouse in 1759. The latter shared the fate of its predecessor in falling victim to vandalism.
The third St. Mary's was built by the Jesuits, and its supervision later fell to the lot of the Benedictines in 1783. The railway extensions in its then neighbourhood caused St. Mary's to be removed stone by stone to its present site. Where it was reopened for service on July 7, 1885.
The year 192dawitnessed the addition of 8 bells as the church's war memorial, which were consecrated by Mgr. Whiteside.